blog image

2024 AP Race International: Day 2 Highlights and Record-Breaking Performances

May 27, 20243 min read

The 2024 AP Race International, named after British Olympic legend Adam Peaty, continues to solidify its position as a premier event in the global swimming calendar. Taking place at the London Aquatics Centre from May 25th to May 27th, this meet has attracted elite swimmers from various countries, including Germany, Hungary, and the Netherlands. Day 2 witnessed several exceptional performances and new national records.

Angharad Evans Sets British National Record

Women's 100m Breaststroke

British swimming sensation Angharad Evans made headlines by breaking the British national record in the women's 100m breaststroke. Her remarkable time of 1:05.54 not only secured her the gold medal but also marked the first instance of a British woman swimming under 1:06 in this event. This achievement underscores Evans' rising dominance in breaststroke swimming.

Barbora Seemanova's Lifetime Best in Women's 200m Freestyle

Women's 200m Freestyle

Czech Republic's Barbora Seemanova delivered a stellar performance in the women's 200m freestyle, clocking a lifetime best of 1:55.12. This time not only earned her the gold medal but also positioned her as the 6th fastest in the world this season. Seemanova's impressive splits of 56.05 and 59.07 highlight her ability to maintain speed and endurance throughout the race.

Freya Colbert Dominates Women's 400m IM

Women's 400m Individual Medley

Freya Colbert showcased her prowess in the women's 400m IM, winning with a time of 4:38.56, more than five seconds ahead of her nearest competitor. Colbert's consistency and strength in all four strokes secured her a decisive victory.

Podium Finishers

  • Gold: Freya Colbert (GBR) - 4:38.56

  • Silver: Katinka Hosszu (HUN) - 4:43.66

  • Bronze: Zsuzsanna Jakabos (HUN) - 4:46.83

German Mid-Distance Freestyle Power

Men's 400m Freestyle

Germany's Oliver Klemet and Florian Wellbrock dominated the men's 400m freestyle, taking gold and silver, respectively. Klemet's winning time of 3:47.26 was followed closely by Wellbrock's 3:48.82. This performance highlights Germany's strength in mid-distance freestyle events.

Podium Finishers

  • Gold: Oliver Klemet (GER) - 3:47.26

  • Silver: Florian Wellbrock (GER) - 3:48.82

  • Bronze: Carlos Halawi (DEN) - 4:01.35

Arno Kamminga Edges Out Competition in Men's 50m Breaststroke

Men's 50m Breaststroke

Dutch swimmer Arno Kamminga narrowly won the men's 50m breaststroke, clocking a time of 27.05. He was closely followed by Germany's Melvin Imoudu, who finished in 27.06. Adam Peaty, the event's namesake, took bronze with a time of 27.16.

Podium Finishers

  • Gold: Arno Kamminga (NED) - 27.05

  • Silver: Melvin Imoudu (GER) - 27.06

  • Bronze: Adam Peaty (GBR) - 27.16

Matt Richards Shines in Men's 100m Freestyle

Men's 100m Freestyle

British swimmer Matt Richards clinched gold in the men's 100m freestyle with a solid in-season time of 48.93. Duncan Scott and Alex Cohoon followed closely, showcasing the depth of British talent in sprint freestyle events.

Podium Finishers

  • Gold: Matt Richards (GBR) - 48.93

  • Silver: Duncan Scott (GBR) - 49.09

  • Bronze: Alex Cohoon (GBR) - 49.25

Additional Highlights

Women's 1500m Freestyle

  • Gold: Isabel Gose (GER) - 16:00.20

  • Silver: Amelie Blocksidge (GBR) - 16:21.10

  • Bronze: Fleur Lewis (GBR) - 16:22.85

Women's 50m Butterfly

  • Gold: Angelina Kohler (GER) - 26.16

Women's 100m Backstroke

  • Gold: Kathleen Dawson (GBR) - 1:00.27

  • Silver: Lauren Cox (GBR) - 1:00.54

Men's 200m Individual Medley

  • Gold: Duncan Scott (GBR) - 1:58.18

  • Silver: Cedric Buessing (GER) - 2:00.39

  • Bronze: Joe Litchfield (GBR) - 2:01.56

Men's 200m Butterfly

  • Gold: Joe Litchfield (GBR) - 1:57.71

Men's 50m Backstroke

  • Gold: Oliver Morgan (GBR) - 25.02

  • Silver: Cameron Broker (GBR) - 25.49

  • Bronze: Jack Skerry (GBR) - 26.38

Back to Blog

Sign Up For the Underwater Secrets Newsletter

Copyright Science of Swimming Performance 2021 -- All Rights Reserved