blog image

2024 Mare Nostrum Canet-en-Roussillon: Day 2 Finals Recap

May 27, 20246 min read

Men's 50 Breaststroke Final

Record: Felipe Lima – 26.33 (2019)

Gold: Taku Taniguchi (JPN) – 27.49

Silver: Koen De Groot (NED) – 27.59

Bronze: Carl Aitkaci (FRA) – 28.15

The men's 50m breaststroke final kicked off the session, with only two swimmers breaking the 28-second barrier. Japan's Taku Taniguchi topped the leaderboard, improving his heat time by nearly half a second to finish at 27.49, clinching the gold. Koen De Groot of the Netherlands followed closely, earning silver with a time of 27.59. France's Carl Aitkaci completed the podium, taking bronze in 28.15. Despite their medals, all three times fall outside the season's top 30 worldwide performances.

Women's 50 Breaststroke Final

Record: Ruta Meilutyte – 29.88 (2015)

Gold: Sophie Hansson (SWE) – 30.59

Silver: Skyler Smith (USA) – 30.80

Bronze: Letitia Sim (SGP) – 30.95

The women's 50m breaststroke final saw a close contest, with Sweden's Sophie Hansson emerging victorious in 30.59, a time that marks her tenth-fastest career performance. Skyler Smith from the USA claimed silver, finishing in 30.80, while Singapore's Letitia Sim narrowly missed her national record, securing bronze with a 30.95 finish.

Men's 50 Butterfly Final

Record: Andrii Govorov – 22.53 (2018)

Gold: Nyls Korstanje (NED) – 23.22

Silver: Szebasztian Szabo (HUN) – 23.47

Bronze: Dylan Carter (TTO) – 23.50

Nyls Korstanje of the Netherlands captured gold in the men's 50m butterfly with a swift 23.22. Hungary's Szebasztian Szabo retained his silver medal position from last year, clocking in at 23.47. Trinidad & Tobago's Dylan Carter, the previous year's gold medalist, took bronze with a time of 23.50. Notably, world record holder Andrii Govorov of Ukraine finished seventh in 23.83.

Women's 50 Butterfly Final

Record: Sarah Sjostrom – 24.76 (2017)

Gold: Sara Junevik (SWE) – 25.74

Silver: Melanie Henique (FRA) – 25.86

Bronze: Neza Klancar (SLO) – 26.28

With Sarah Sjostrom absent, Sweden's Sara Junevik claimed gold in the women's 50m butterfly, matching her personal best of 25.74. France's Melanie Henique earned silver in 25.86, while Slovenia's Neza Klancar took bronze with a 26.28 finish.

Men's 800 Freestyle Final

Record: Henrik Christiansen – 7:48.19 (2019)

Gold: Ahmed Jaouadi (TUN) – 7:52.44

Silver: Damien Joly (FRA) – 7:56.90

Bronze: Rami Ramouni (TUN) – 8:01.60

Tunisia's Ahmed Jaouadi secured gold in the men's 800m freestyle with a time of 7:52.44, followed by France's Damien Joly in 7:56.90 for silver. Rami Ramouni, also from Tunisia, earned bronze with an 8:01.60 finish. Despite missing the Olympic qualification time, Jaouadi's performance was a highlight for Tunisia.

Women's 400 Freestyle Final

Record: Camille Muffat – 4:02.97 (2012)

Gold: Anastasia Kirpichnikova (FRA) & Valentine Dumont (BEL) – 4:08.99

Bronze: Waka Kobori (JPN) – 4:09.49

In a thrilling finish, Anastasia Kirpichnikova of France and Belgium's Valentine Dumont tied for gold, both clocking in at 4:08.99. Japan's Waka Kobori rounded out the podium with a bronze-worthy 4:09.49, the only other sub-4:10 performance in the race.

Men's 100 Backstroke Final

Record: Ryosuke Irie – 53.00 (2022)

Gold: Yohann Ndoye-Brouard (FRA) – 53.59

Silver: Srihari Nataraj (IND) – 54.68

Bronze: Adam Jaszo (HUN) – 54.88

France's Yohann Ndoye-Brouard claimed his second consecutive gold in the men's 100m backstroke with a time of 53.59, comfortably under the Olympic qualification time. India's Srihari Nataraj took silver in 54.68, while Hungary's Adam Jaszo earned bronze with a 54.88 finish.

Women's 100 Backstroke Final

Record: Kylie Masse – 58.57 (2022)

Gold: Ingrid Wilm (CAN) – 59.90

Silver: Emma Terebo (FRA) – 1:00.11

Bronze: Mary-Ambre Moluh (FRA) – 1:00.44

Canada's Ingrid Wilm was the only swimmer to break the minute mark in the women's 100m backstroke, securing gold with a time of 59.90. France's Emma Terebo and Mary-Ambre Moluh took silver and bronze with times of 1:00.11 and 1:00.44, respectively.

Men's 200 Breaststroke Final

Record: Arno Kamminga – 2:07.23 (2021)

Gold: Ippei Watanabe (JPN) – 2:07.62

Silver: Yu Hanaguruma (JPN) – 2:08.40

Bronze: Antoine Marc (FRA) – 2:10.92

Japan dominated the men's 200m breaststroke, with former world record holder Ippei Watanabe winning gold in 2:07.62. His teammate Yu Hanaguruma took silver in 2:08.40, while France's Antoine Marc finished with bronze in 2:10.92.

Women's 200 Breaststroke Final

Record: Rikke Moller-Pederson – 2:19.67 (2014)

Gold: Jessica Vall (ESP) – 2:25.92

Silver: Letitia Sim (SGP) – 2:27.51

Bronze: Kara Hanlon (GBR) – 2:28.66

Spain's Jessica Vall won the women's 200m breaststroke in 2:25.92, ahead of Singapore's Letitia Sim, who finished in 2:27.51. Britain's Kara Hanlon took bronze with a time of 2:28.66.

Men's 200 Butterfly Final

Record: Kristof Milak – 1:53.89 (2022)

Gold: Tomoru Honda (JPN) – 1:54.58

Silver: Genki Terakado (JPN) – 1:55.87

Bronze: Kuan-hung Wang (TPE) – 1:56.49

Japan's Tomoru Honda won gold in the men's 200m butterfly with a time of 1:54.58, followed by Genki Terakado in 1:55.87 for silver. Taiwan's Kuan-hung Wang took bronze in 1:56.49.

Women's 200 Butterfly Final

Record: Suzuka Hasegawa – 2:06.70 (2017)

Gold: Sarah Dumont (BEL) – 2:09.92

Silver: Maria Mata Cocco (MEX) – 2:10.54

Bronze: Julia Pujadas Rusinol (ESP) – 2:11.01

Sarah Dumont of Belgium set a new national record in the women's 200m butterfly, winning gold in 2:09.92. Mexico's Maria Mata Cocco earned silver with a time of 2:10.54, while Spain's Julia Pujadas Rusinol took bronze in 2:11.01.

Men's 100 Freestyle Final

Record: Nathan Adrian – 48.08 (2014)

Gold: Maxime Grousset (FRA) – 48.71

Silver: Dylan Carter (TTO) – 48.97

Bronze: Katsuhiro Matsumoto (JPN) – 49.13

Maxime Grousset of France won the men's 100m freestyle in 48.71, followed by Trinidad & Tobago's Dylan Carter in 48.97 for silver. Japan's Katsuhiro Matsumoto took bronze with a time of 49.13.

Women's 100 Freestyle Final

Record: Sarah Sjostrom – 52.08 (2017)

Gold: Siobhan Haughey (HKG) – 52.55

Silver: Marrit Steenbergen (NED) – 53.55

Bronze: Beryl Gastaldello (FRA) – 53.89

Hong Kong's Siobhan Haughey continued her dominance in the women's 100m freestyle, winning gold with a time of 52.55. Dutch swimmer Marrit Steenbergen secured silver, finishing in 53.55, while France's Beryl Gastaldello took bronze in 53.89.

Men's 200 Individual Medley Final

Record: Hugo Gonzalez – 1:56.31 (2021)

Gold: Tomoyuki Matsushita (JPN) – 1:58.87

Silver: Jaouad Syoud (ALG) – 2:01.80

Bronze: Jacques Saletes (FRA) – 2:03.64

Japan's Tomoyuki Matsushita was the only swimmer to break the 2:00 mark in the men's 200m individual medley, winning gold in 1:58.87. Algeria's Jaouad Syoud took silver with a time of 2:01.80, while France's Jacques Saletes earned bronze in 2:03.64.

Women's 400 Individual Medley Final

Record: Katinka Hosszu – 4:30.75 (2016)

Gold: Anastasia Gorbenko (ISR) – 4:36.95

Silver: Mio Narita (JPN) – 4:38.23

Bronze: Waka Kobori (JPN) – 4:38.38

Anastasia Gorbenko of Israel set a new national record in the women's 400m individual medley, winning gold with a time of 4:36.95. Japan's Mio Narita finished second in 4:38.23, and her compatriot Waka Kobori took bronze in 4:38.38. Narita's performance was particularly notable, given her earlier success at the Japanese Trials.

Back to Blog

Sign Up For the Underwater Secrets Newsletter

Copyright Science of Swimming Performance 2021 -- All Rights Reserved